The De Anza Academic Senate

Approved Notes of the meeting of June 15th, 2015

<u>Senators and Officers present:</u> Anderson, Bryant, Cruz, Damjanovic, Delas, Dolen, Donahue, Freeman, Guevara, Hunter, Koshin, Liu, Mitchell, Pape, Schaffer, Setziol, and Zarghami,

Senators and Officers Absent: Alexander and Nakase,

DASB: FA Liaison: Don Nickel

Classified Senate: Lorna Maynard Curriculum Co Chair:

Administrative Liaison: Coleen Lee-Wheat

Director of Equity, Diversity, and Social Justice:

Guests: Melissa Epps, Dave Garrido, and Desiree Berdejo

Faculty and Staff Development:

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:32, a quorum being present.

- **I. Approval of Notes and Agenda:** The agenda was approved as distributed. Approval of the notes of May 8th was held over to June 22nd. Cruz reported that she will be acting as the District Academic Senate President for the 2015-2016 and that the position alternates between De Anza and Foothill.
- **II.** Academic Senate Election Results: Elections Committee Chair Cleve Freeman announced that Mayra Cruz had been reelected as President and that the constitutional change of clarifying the voting status of the Director of Equity, Diversity, and Social Justice and adding the faculty Curriculum Committee Co Chair as a voting member.
- **III.** Equity Activity: McFarland USA: The document "Student Support (Re) defined was distributed. Setziol introduced the movie and gave a synopsis of the first 14 minutes which were not watched due to time constraints. The group watched the remainder of the movie. There was enthusiastic applause at the end.
- **IV.** Equity activity Reflection: The item was held over.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30